Cycle touring

Cycle touring is a great way to explore the area, and is a totally different experience to going on a day ride. The Yorkshire Dales Cycleway takes you around the whole area, the Way of the Roses takes you through the south of the Dales, while the Pennine Cycleway passes through, and the Lancashire and West Yorkshire Cycleways bring you into the Dales. There are 48 hour and weekly car park passes available for National Park car parks so you can leave your vehicle whilst touring.

For more information about the routes mentioned, select from the following links or use the search facility below:

Search routes

Enter or select details to search against and press the 'Search' button:

Route details

Yorkshire Dales Cycleway

Start location: Skipton (circular tour)

Distance: 130 miles (210 km)

The Yorkshire Dales Cycleway (YDCW) takes you on a fantastic tour of the Yorkshire Dales National Park, crossing a wonderful landscape of heather moorland, dramatic limestone scenery and linked together by beautiful valleys and villages. The Dales are famous for their flower filled meadows and high fells, scattered with stone barns, dry stone walls and an abundance of waterfalls.

Detailed information and route descriptions are available from our dedicated YDCW pages.

Return to top of page

Way of the Roses

Start location: Morecambe

End location: Bridlington

Distance: 170 miles (274 km)

Britain's newest 'coast-to-coast' cycle route opened on 11 September 2010. The Way of the Roses route runs for 170 well signed miles between Morecambe on Lancashire's Irish Sea coast and Bridlington on Yorkshire's North Sea coast. It passes through the historic cities of York and Lancaster, and lesser known gems such as Settle, Pateley Bridge and Ripon.

Between the broad sweeps of Morecambe and Bridlington Bays, you'll be cycling across a beautiful, changing landscape comprising the Lune Valley, Forest of Bowland, Yorkshire Dales, Nidderdale AONB, Vale of York and the Yorkshire Wolds. The route consists of traffic-free paths, on-road cycle lanes, country lanes and quieter roads, all part of the National Cycle Network.

It's a challenging, but rewarding cycle touring break or longer holiday, and both end points (as well as several points in between) can be reached by train. You can find out more on the Way of the Roses website, and the map is available from Sustrans online shop.

Return to top of page

Pennine Cycleway

Start location: Derby

End location: Berwick-on-Tweed

Distance: 350 miles (580 km)

Another major cycle route that passes through the Yorkshire Dales National Park is part of the National Cycle Network Route 68, also known as the Pennine Cycleway. This is a magnificent 580km (350 mile) route running from Derby on the southern edge of the Peak District to Berwick-on-Tweed on the Scottish border. It enters the National Park at Gargrave and runs through Settle to Clapham, then follows the same route as the Yorkshire Dales Cycle Way to Ingleton and Dent, before carrying on to Sedbergh and Appleby.

The route is served by trains on the Leeds-Settle-Carlisle route with stations at Gargrave, Settle and Appleby.

Further details are available from the Route 68 page of the Sustrans website.

Return to top of page

West Yorkshire Cycle Route

Start location: Ilkley (circular tour)

Distance: 150 miles (240 km)

The West Yorkshire Cycle Route is a 150 mile circular route that roughly follows the West Yorkshire county boundary. It connects with the Yorkshire Dales area at Ilkley and comes very close around Skipton. Primarily for leisure cycling, the route is mainly on road and is intended for use by all roadworthy bicycles. The route is signed in both clockwise and anti-clockwise directions, and is identified by the route logo, a white rose with a green background.

The route is supported by a very attractive laminated map that is available free on request from Leeds City Council Highways and Transportation Department. Contact Mark Robinson by phoning 0113 3951470 or email You may also be able to obtain a copy from West Yorkshire Tourist Information Centres.

Further information about the route is available on the following websites:

Return to top of page

Lancashire Cycleway

Start location: Whalley near Clitheroe

Distance: 260 miles (418 km)

The Lancashire Cycleway comprises two circular routes which meet in the historic village of Whalley in the Ribble Valley. Where possible it follows minor roads and takes you through a host of different landscapes from the rugged Bowland Hills and West Pennine Moors to the rich pastures of the Fylde Plain and the outstanding coastal scenery at Silverdale. Further details are available on the Lancashire Cycleway page of Lancashire County Council's website.

Return to top of page