Cycle touring search results

Your search of cycle tours found 3 results.

Yorkshire Dales Cycleway

Start location: Skipton (circular tour)

Distance: 130 miles (210 km)

The Yorkshire Dales Cycleway (YDCW) takes you on a fantastic tour of the Yorkshire Dales National Park, crossing a wonderful landscape of heather moorland, dramatic limestone scenery and linked together by beautiful valleys and villages. The Dales are famous for their flower filled meadows and high fells, scattered with stone barns, dry stone walls and an abundance of waterfalls.

Detailed information and route descriptions are available from our dedicated YDCW pages.

Return to top of page

Way of the Roses

Start location: Morecambe

End location: Bridlington

Distance: 170 miles (274 km)

Britain's newest 'coast-to-coast' cycle route opened in September 2010 and has quickly become a classic. The Way of the Roses route runs for 170 well signed miles between Morecambe on Lancashire's Irish Sea coast and Bridlington on Yorkshire's North Sea coast. It passes through the historic cities of York and Lancaster, and lesser known gems such as Settle, Pateley Bridge and Ripon.

Between the broad sweeps of Morecambe and Bridlington Bays, you'll be cycling across a beautiful, changing landscape comprising the Lune Valley, Forest of Bowland, Yorkshire Dales, Nidderdale AONB, Vale of York and the Yorkshire Wolds. The route consists of traffic-free paths, on-road cycle lanes, country lanes and quieter roads, all part of the National Cycle Network.

It's a challenging, but rewarding cycle touring break or longer holiday, and both end points (as well as several points in between) can be reached by train. You can find out more on the Way of the Roses website, and the map is available from Sustrans online shop.

Return to top of page

Pennine Cycleway

Start location: Derby

End location: Berwick-on-Tweed

Distance: 350 miles (580 km)

Another major cycle route that passes through the Yorkshire Dales National Park is part of the National Cycle Network Route 68, also known as the Pennine Cycleway. This is a magnificent 580km (350 mile) route running from Derby on the southern edge of the Peak District to Berwick-on-Tweed on the Scottish border. It enters the National Park at Gargrave and runs through Settle to Clapham, then follows the same route as the Yorkshire Dales Cycleway to Ingleton and Dent, before carrying on to Sedbergh and Appleby.

The route is served by trains on the Leeds-Settle-Carlisle route with stations at Gargrave, Settle and Appleby.

Further details are available from the Sustrans website.

Return to top of page

Search again?

Enter or select details to search against and press the 'Search' button: